Taco Bell Vegan Menu: Best Vegetarian and Plant-Based Options

Taco Bell is one of the most vegetarian-friendly and vegan-friendly fast food restaurants, with dozens of menu items for plant-based eaters. With a few simple substitutions and menu hacks you can order almost everything on the menu—from tacos and burritos to crunch wrap supremes!
post featured image
A spread of vegan taco bell menu options including the vegan nacho cheese fries.
This post may contain affiliate links, which means that I make a small commission off items you purchase at no additional cost to you. Please read my policy page.

If you’re on the road and considering a fling with some fast food, do you switch into autopilot and picture the Taco Bell Vegan Menu? It’s been a haven for vegans for years when you’re on the go with no where else to turn to. You can never go wrong with a fine flour tortilla, a bunch of beans, and a whole lot of guac.

When Taco Bell announced that they were the first-ever quick-service restaurant to offer a certified vegetarian menu, vegans rejoiced! They still maintain that they have “millions of vegetarian options” that have been certified by the American Vegetarian Association. It’s really just a handful of ingredients (like rice, beans, guacamole, tomatoes, lettuce, and potatoes) done millions of ways, but that’s still more progress on the fast food front than many other restaurants have made.

Taco Bell Has Been Thinking About Their Vegan and Vegetarian Customers Long Before Other Fast Food Restaurants

According to the CEO of Taco Bell, “vegetarians are not an afterthought. We sell more than 350 million vegetarian menu items each year.” And from the 7-Layer Burrito to the Crunch Wrap Supreme, almost anything on the Taco Bell menu can be hacked to be made vegan.

With more than 6,500 restaurant locations, Taco Bell serves more than 2 billion people every year. They deserve big props for taking this initiative, and hopefully other fast food chains will quickly follow suit. We encourage our readers to write to other fast food chains encouraging them to introduce more vegan meals and to have them certified by the American Vegetarian Association.

New Vegan Nacho Cheese Sauce Launch in 2023

The vegan community went wild with the limited-time release of Taco Bell’s new vegan nacho sauce served with spicy fries in October 2023. During the launch, the front page of the Taco Bell website was marked with a celebration of this new vegan option, and the vegan menu item was highlighted across all restaurant locations throughout the United States.

Vegan nacho cheese fries ad that appeared on the Taco Bell homepage during the launch.

How to Navigate the Taco Bell Vegan Menu

Ordering vegan at Taco Bell is super simple if you remember to leave out the meat and dairy. Though, sometimes, the dairy is lurking in unknown and unfamiliar places, so we still have to be careful. Let’s cross our fingers that they start offering vegan cheese at least one of their locations soon. Until then, here are some quick suggestions on how to make ordering your tempting tacos and bursting burritos a little easier:

  • Ask for your dish to be made “vegetarian” (meaning made with beans instead of meat)
  • Ask for your dish to be made “fresca style” (meaning made without cheese, sour cream, or any dairy)
  • Add veggie items like guacamole and potatoes (they’re back!) to any entrée.

How to Order the Best Vegan Burrito at Taco Bell

There are dozens of different ways to order a vegan burrito at Taco Bell—but how should you order to get the best bang for your buck?

Many people order the “Bean burrito made fresca style” — but that only comes with refried beans, sauce, and tomatoes wrapped in a tortilla. You can add-on extras to that base, but that will get expensive quickly.

To order a burrito loaded with all the vegan extras in the least expensive way possible, ask for the following:

“May I have a Fresca Veggie Burrito, make it fresco, and add lettuce, onions, potatoes, and jalapeno peppers, and red sauce?”

This should result in a burrito with all of the following available fixings:

  • Tortilla
  • Black Beans (you can also add or swap refried beans)
  • Seasoned Rice
  • Lettuce
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Guacamole
  • Potatoes
  • Fiesta Strips
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Red Sauce

Now that’s a burrito. This fully loaded burrito should total around $5.05. You can also skip the add-ons and it will drop down to around $2.45, but will still be filling, with rice, black beans, tomatoes, guacamole, and fiesta strips. This is the least expensive way to order the best vegan burrito at Taco Bell.

Ordering Vegan Tacos at Taco Bell

To order vegan tacos at Taco Bell, ask for tacos with beans instead of meat, no cheese, no sour cream, and add guacamole and potatoes (if desired). Confirm that it will also come with lettuce and tomatoes, and ask for extra sauce packets to spice up your veggie meal!

vegan tacos at taco bell
Vegan Tacos at Taco Bell

How to Order a Vegan Crunch Wrap Supreme

To order a vegan crunch wrap, simply say:

“May I please have a crunch wrap supreme, with beans instead of meat, fresca style, and add guacamole and potatoes?”

Voila! You’ll get the crunch wrap pictured below, and it’s delicious. Load up on the hot Fire sauce, or any sauces of your choice. 

taco bell vegan crunch wrap supreme with beans instead of meat
Taco Bell’s Crunch Wrap Supreme Ordered Vegan

Best Vegan Menu Options at Taco Bell

Ask for “fresca style” (meaning vegan) and reiterate no cheese, sour cream, nacho cheese sauce, or creamy jalapeño sauce or for all items below. Also feel free to sub beans instead of meat, add potatoes, and add guacamole to any item.

  • Fresca Veggie Burrito (fresca style)
  • Bean (or Bean & Rice) Burrito (fresca style)
  • Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme (fresca style, add guacamole and potatoes)
  • Black Bean Chalupa (fresca style)
  • Black Bean and Rice Bowl (fresca style)
  • Black Bean Quesarito (also ask for no sauces and add guacamole, tomatoes, beans, rice, jalapeño peppers, onions, lettuce, and/or potatoes)
  • Spicy Potato Soft Taco (fresca style)
  • Veggie Nachos Party Pack (add lettuce, rice, black beans, onions, and/or potatoes)
taco bell vegan chalupa and mexican pizza
Mexican Pizza and Chalupa Ordered Vegan at Taco Bell

Full Taco Bell Vegan Menu

Vegan Breakfast Items

  • Breakfast Salsa
  • Hash Browns

Vegan Dessert

  • Cinnamon Twists (crispy crunchy cinnamon and sugar coated crisps)
taco bell cinnamon twists are vegan
Taco Bell’s Cinnamon Twists

Plant-Based Sides

  • Seasoned Fries
  • Seasoned Rice
  • Nacho Chips
  • Guacamole
  • Refried Beans
  • Black Beans

Taco Bell’s Vegan Taco Shells & Tortillas

  • Chalupa (yes, Taco Bell’s Chalupa shell is vegan!)
  • Corn Taco Shell
  • Flour Tortilla
  • Gordita Flatbread
  • Red Strips
  • Tostada Shell

Vegan Ingredients and Sauces

  • Black Beans
  • Green Sauce
  • Guacamole
  • Hot Sauces (all 4)
  • Jalapeño Peppers
  • Lettuce
  • Nacho Chips
  • Onions
  • Potato Bites
  • Red Sauce
  • Refried Beans
  • Seasoned Fries
  • Seasoned Rice
  • Tomatoes
A vegan order from Taco Bell with a crunch wrap supreme and nacho cheese fries

Vegan-Friendly Beverages

  • Black Coffee
  • Fountain Drinks
  • Freezes (Only the Mango Freeze and Mtn Dew Baja Blast Freeze are vegan-friendly.)
  • Gatorade Fruit Punch
  • IZZE Drinks
  • Orange Juice
  • Pink Lemonade
  • Unsweetened Iced Tea

NOTE: The “whip” versions of the Freeze drinks are NOT vegan and contain milk products, specifically the Mango Whip and Island Strawberry. The Wild Strawberry and Wild Cherry flavors contain confectioner’s glaze, which is made from insects, so it’s also not vegan.

What’s NOT Vegan at Taco Bell?

The following items contain animal products and cannot be ordered vegan.

  • Cinnabon Delights (contains egg and milk)
  • Doritos Locos Tacos (contains milk and cheese)
  • Sauces (contain milk and some also egg, except for the green, red, and hot sauces)

Creating a Kinder and More Accessible Taco Bell

It’s only a matter of time before more vegan options land on the menu. That’s the direction all the big fast food chains are heading, and Taco Bell knows that the heat is on and they can add a few more items that are vegan-friendly, such as vegan cheese. But meanwhile, we can always write to, call, or contact the managers of any location to make our requests.

What are your favorite items on the new vegan menu at Taco Bell? Let us know on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!

Helpful Hints When Ordering Vegan at Taco Bell

  • Browse the Taco Bell menu before ordering.
  • If ordering Taco Bell through a delivery service, make sure you clearly specify any substitutions you would like. Especially concerning cheese and meats. If you’re worried that your request may not be honored (or seen by the server at Taco Bell), it might be a better idea to go there directly to order.
  • Check out the Full Nutrition Info page and Ingredients Statement section to make sure that you are purchasing a vegan-friendly item. The menu items offered at Taco Bell do change and the informational charts seem to be updated regularly.
  • From past experience, it seems that most (if not all) seasonal drinks or foods are not vegan because of added dairy milk or milk derivatives. Be careful when new and exciting seasonal products are offered at Taco Bell. Double check the allergens and ingredients page to make sure the item is vegan before purchasing.

Historic Moments in Taco Bell History

  • October 2023 – For a limited time, Taco Bell offers an amazing vegan nacho cheese option for their famously popular Nacho Fries nationwide.
Two hands holding a black plastic cup of vegan nacho cheese and a cardboard container of fries held up in front of a Taco Bell restaurant.
Vegan Nacho Fries at Taco Bell for a Limited Time in Fall 2023. (Source: @bigboxvegan on Instagram)

How to Order Vegan at Other Fast Chains

Be sure to check out our full Vegan Fast Food Guide where you can see the best vegan options at all the major chains in the U.S. 

More Mexican-Inspired Fast Food Guides

Mexican-inspired fast food restaurants tend to be exceptionally vegan friendly. Here are vegan menu guides for the following fast food locations:

Vegan Menu Guides for Other Chain Restaurants

Have you found any other options to be veganizable? Did you find something amazing that we missed? Share your finds in the comments belo.

World of Vegan is not affiliated with Taco Bell. At the time of this article, the foods mentioned above are vegan, to the best of our knowledge. Restaurants frequently update their menus, so please keep this in mind when ordering your food. There may be new items that are vegan at Taco Bell and not listed or items listed here as vegan, which are no longer vegan. Take care to double-check.

newsletter offer

Get Our FREE Vegan Shopping List

Whether you love it or hate it, we all have to go grocery shopping, and it can be a little intimidating when you first start eating vegan. Our beginner-friendly shopping list includes all the grocery essentials you'll need make many satisfying vegan meals! You'll also receive a blank shopping list you can customize yourself, plus our weekly e-newsletter with delicious plant-based recipes.

Thank you for subscribing!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 comment
  1. Taco Bell is my go-to fast food place these days. They make it very easy to order as a vegetarian, and pretty easy as a vegan. Great selection of different flavors for such affordable food.

Stay Inspired!

Thank you for subscribing!